Older but not Obsolete … by Kimberly Blanchard

Published on: Author: bette 10 Comments

I figured out why we’re alone when we’re old

Our kids find us boring, not fun, I am told

From the mouth of a babe to the ears of a granny

The emotions his words stirred were varied and many

 

(Am I really that old in the eyes of a child?

Have I forgotten how it feels to be young, free and wild?)

 

We wouldn’t have thought so, I still feel like a girl

Still finding adventure and exploring my world

Can it be that I’m obsolete like the 8-track and such?

Can it really be possible, have I changed all that much?

 

I suppose that we all reach a stage in our lives

When we no longer matter, all that’s left is to survive

But I’ll fight tooth and nail, to the death if you will,

To maintain my essence, to keep feeling the thrill

Of my life day to day – from daybreak to nightfall

To them I may be boring, but my life is delightful!

 

I’m still active and curious and face each day with no fear

So please don’t count me out, not as long as I’m here

 

I look older, move slower, but I can keep up with you

In fact, I might venture, I can run circles around you

For when you’ve given up out of frustration or boredom

I will keep going strong for I’ve gained more momentum

 

I have learned how to pace and to watch for the turns

To see ‘round those corners and avoid bumps and burns

What you have in abundance is speed and agility

But I have the patience to stay the course to infinity

 

So make no mistake though I’m older than you

I am not obsolete, just broken in and not new

Getting better with time if you don’t look at me close

Though I can’t outrun you, I can out think you, no boast!

 

Dedicated to my 10-year-old grandson Toby

CLICK HERE:   Older but Not Obsolete

 

10 Responses to Older but not Obsolete … by Kimberly Blanchard Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. I loved your poem!
    As a grandmother myself and “still feeling like a girl”
    I experienced each line as my mind went a whirl.
    Thank you for reminding me
    That I really must see
    At heart, just like you,
    I’m still a girl too.

    • I LOVE it!

      We talked about both of our son’s taking their families on a road trip … and BOTH being in Glacier National Park yesterday. Well … my son told me that the kids “are about ready to kill us” … and that the youngest (7) has been pressuring them to go home since the Grand Canyon.

      We’re meeting them at the Great Cats in Cave Junction on Saturday and I’m REALLY looking forward to reminding my son about how “BORED” he was when he was 16 and I took him and his little sister to Hawaii. It JUST WASN’T COOL to be there with his MOM ;-)!

      Then again … I also cringe to remember what a bad time I gave MY father in 1962 when we were in Cairo and I refused to go ride a camel with the family because I missed my friends and just wanted to go home …….

      (See “Kids! What’s the Matter with Kids Today” : / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wCXr_6wgns )

      • Perfect clip for this thread, Bette. I’d forgotten about that movie. I loved the reminder.
        Have fun in Cave Junction. Everything is better with grandparents, don’t ya know? That little 7 year old will most likely be tickled to see you and that in itself will be his delight of the day. Have a great time.

    • Thank you Janet! Sorry I have been slightly out of touch so did not see this till now. It seems we are all spending time with grandkids and they have a tendency to speak out about what they see and feel…I love hanging out with the kiddies! And I loved your poetic response!

  2. I love kids, they call it as they see it! But I have also had this particular grandkid tell me I’m awesome…like when the time I pulled a McIver and got his Frisbee out of the tree in Azalea Park. I lashed several dead branches together with duct tape (that I just happened to have in my car) and was able to reach up higher than they were able to climb. He and his friends were impressed and amazed, and I know I scored big in his eyes!

    • Not sure why you’re coming up as “Anonymous” … I’m assuming this is Kim …

      Sounds like a cute sequel to this poem ;-)!

    • Hilarious… and a great example of creative problem solving!! Possibly life changing event for those kids.

  3. Boy! Do I ever identify with THIS one! My favorite line: “…… if you don’t look at me close…” 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *