On Turning 50 . . . by CJ

Published on: Author: bette 5 Comments

Because I was the last of our class of ’81 to reach this milestone, I jotted something down to commemorate my coming of age…so to speak.

It isn’t just a sum, category, or even a moment. Though my birth date hasn’t carried much relevance since my teen years, 50 seems magical somehow.

CLICK HERE:  On Turning 50

5 Responses to On Turning 50 . . . by CJ Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. It’s REALLY fun going back through this site! I agree with Berma … these lessons deserve to be posted on my mirror … BUT … can I change the last line to “70 is only the beginning”???!!!

    • Thanks Bette.
      I hadn’t checked to see that there had been comments and to be honest I haven’t kept up with what anyone else has been up to for quite some time. After finishing the third and final book in the In Stone Series I’ve been head deep in setting up the book in paperback and e-book. I’ve also been working with a marketing professional and building my format for Name in Stone’s book release on the 10th of December. I chose to go all out on this third book and have taken on the entire process. It has been a huge challenge that I have to work a little harder on some days not to get down on myself for;) Writing time has been cut to nothing and I miss the release. Creating the cover and some of the graphics needed in the marketing helps but I am looking forward to really writing again.

      Please leave me in the Artist Community. I don’t want to cut all ties. I appreciate you contacting me and thank you for reaching out. You are welcomed to use my full name and to answer the above… I think every day is a new beginning:) Oh and by the way you aren’t alone when you said you were learning wordpress by trial and error. Most of what I have been doing the last several months has been absolutely by trial and error. Bright side, I learn something new every day;)

      Enjoy your winter in Arizona! Merry Christmas and blessings always,
      Cecilia Johnson

  2. Personally touching… and so optimistic!! I am going to post this on my mirror…
    CJ’s life’s lessons:
    * non-judgmental love and compassion
    * Do not to wallow in sadness and anger indifference
    * hold onto the magic of each moment.
    *Regret is not an option a
    *and 50 is only the beginning.

    • Hey Berma,
      This is a very late reply but I hadn’t seen this until Bette alerted me today about the three comments from this post two years ago. lol
      I’ve been neck deep in the edit, proof, cover, layout, and printing process for my third book. I’m working with a marketing professional and she gives me lots of homework every week. Book releases on the 10th of Dec. blahblahblah
      Anyway, can’t wait to get back to writing. We took a two week vacation in Oct. Other than that and walks on the beach I’ve been holed up in my office doing the blahblah. Trying to like it but blahblah kind of says it all;)
      Hope you are doing alright. Hope your surgery came out well. Not been very good about checking back on Facebook. On there rarely and for short periods.
      Your thoughts on my post were sweet. I do think of you often and look for your vehicle when I get to the beach. Love to you,
      Cj

  3. Wonderful essay on aging in maturity and wisdom. You’ve left quite a lot to our imagination, and I surmise you are saving some of those choices for longer stories. I’ve never encountered a bloody broken door, although my reckless little sister cut herself on broken glass three times in childhood. I was always there to make sure she got driven to a doctor and got stitched up.
    –Kathi, aka Grandma Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *