The House that Jack Built … by Shirley Hyatt

Published on: Author: bette 1 Comment

There’s a lovely old house nearby. I’ve never been inside, but I think of it as a place where one could sit next to the rock fireplace, a warm cup of coffee in one hand, an open book in the other, and be at peace with the world.

I’ve often wished I could climb up that little stone path and sit on that porch and pretend that I lived there.

The last time I passed by, the words, “The House That Jack Built” popped into my mind. Then, quite naturally, the following little tale laid itself out in my mind. Here it is. I hope it makes you smile.

One Response to The House that Jack Built … by Shirley Hyatt Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. This is a wonderful story, Shirley. I love what you’re able to do with one image … It most definitely made me smile.

    Now that I’m back in town and beginning to get settled … I’m going to be able to focus more on this site and hope to make it more interactive. I’ve learned a bit more about how it works and have corrected some of my early mistakes so hopefully will get it to work better for the writers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *