Free Bird . . . by Kimberly Blanchard

Published on: Author: bette 9 Comments

Do you see the brightly colored bird who flies outside your window
Do you long to hear this bird’s sweet song and see her colors up close
If by chance she lights upon your hand will you grasp her and hold tight
So you alone enjoy her song and she no longer has flight

You can’t bear to share this lovely bird with others she is pleasing
So you build a cage and offer food until with you she is abiding
And she stays with you, inside her cage, with her colors slowly fading
Until she can no longer sing and has forgotten about flying

You wonder why you love her less, now that she’s lost her sparkle
That magic that you first fell in love with, is now a memory from long ago
You tried to hold her captive, this bird so wild and free
Her essence gone, you want her not, and so you leave her be.

And have you learned a lesson here, about keeping such a treasure
Or will you find another bird with brightly colored feathers
That seem so much brighter than your own that you must surely have her
So you clip her wings, it begins again, the songbird meets her captor.

CLICK HERE:  Free Bird

9 Responses to Free Bird . . . by Kimberly Blanchard Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. Thank you Shirley, I don’t know if I already replied to your comment but it never hurts to do it again! 🙂

  2. I’m learning something about Edublogs every day. I just realized that in order to be notified that someone has replied to a comment, you have to reply at the END of all the comments … not where it says “Reply” to an individual post.

    It also may be that if I am signed into the site to make changes, you are not able to post comments. I guess you just have to save the comment and post later …. Not really sure about that yet …

  3. Thank you for your comments…I have had a few girlfriends in my lifetime who were with guys like this…I watched them become invisible and eventually just fade away. I have encountered a few like that myself but fortunately figured it out in time to keep my soul intact.

    • Interesting. I never really looked at it like this, but when I got to know the girls that my ex-husband was involved with after our divorce, I realized that he was always attracted to “little birds with broken wings.” I never thought of myself like that when I was married to him … but looking back I can see that’s how he saw me. I really did learn a lot from him, and will always treasure that … but I still had a lot of “soul repair” to do after I finally flew away!

      • Yes, I believe all of us have experienced similar experiences in our lifetimes…to varying degrees of course. At some point, isn’t it nice to just be able to be yourself!

  4. Golly, Kim.

    Sounds so real to human behavior I can’t help but draw the parallel. Enjoyed the truth in it very much!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *