Honesty . . . by Karl Sandstrom

Published on: Author: bette 5 Comments

The fog rolls in and over
What was once believed?
The birds rise to fly
Taking broken wings to flee

And the waves roll over
Every castle designed
And a sand heart crumbles
Fleeting words left behind

Cannons sound and fire
And a spirit horse is taken
And fights to be free
Taking pride into its destiny

With no path to integrity
Time fades into a red sea
And the whales dive under
Retreating to make believe

And as coffee beans are blended
With snake oil words of majesty
I wonder why I ever wanted a cup
To drink in of to a lost integrity

No honesty what then is true?
No reason now for eternity
Just walk to stay the journey
And no reason to remember you

 

CLICK HERE:  Poetry by Karl Sandstrom

 

5 Responses to Honesty . . . by Karl Sandstrom Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. Karl, I honestly think that you captured the emotions with your words. Beautiful and yes, sad.
    I particularly like
    The birds rise to fly
    Taking broken wings to flee
    and
    I wonder why I ever wanted a cup
    To drink in of to a lost integrity?
    Awesome, CJ

    • I had to stop and think about that line about birds with broken wings rising to fly. Just before I read this a bird flew into my window. It’s really a great image … I’ve known some “little birds with broken wings” become even stronger after their troubles …

      I also like the “spirit horse” that fights to be free … Thanks, Karl!

    • Your comment made me think of how you felt about your trees, Leila. When I feel this kind of loss it helps me to think “this too shall pass” ….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *