Killing the War Machine . . . by Kim

Published on: Author: bette 5 Comments
My son is one of the lucky ones; he made it home safely. After 9 years in the Air Force and 3 deployments, he is now working as a state trooper. He has disabilities, shrapnel, and PTSD but is working and taking care of his family. He is still working in a dangerous field. He is also in the National Guard, dedicated to serving and protecting his country and community. I am so very proud of him and cannot deny that his patriotism and love of country was the main motivation for entering the military right out of high school. But I wonder, if the recruiters had not made the presentation at his school when he was in his junior year, might he have chosen to go to college or some vocational school? How would his life have been different? I know he still feels he made the right choice and I support him in that.

I lament the circumstances that create the necessity for our children to kill and be killed. I will always wish for a better way. I will always wish for an end to war. If I only knew how to achieve it, I would move heaven and earth to do so.

CLICK HERE: Killing the War Machine

5 Responses to Killing the War Machine . . . by Kim Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. Thank you all for your comments…this is, of course, a subject close to my heart. And since we all are bombarded with news of war-related incidents on a daily basis I guess we all share the concerns and frustrations with not being able to make a change.
    I’ll just keep writing…in hopes that it at least touches a heart now and then.

  2. Well said. I look forward to hearing the music. The introduction was so very touching I thought that was the main piece. Now I am thinking about the rest of the story… wondering what is in a person’s head who comes back to the US with PTSD and other lingering wounds to remind them of their origins. I think there is another story – poem- song there. TBC. Beautiful song, Kim.

  3. I’d like to hear the music too. Maybe you’ll bring your guitar to one of the writers groups’ meetings . . .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *